my tribe

RemAnzacdusk1

Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.  Jane Howard

I’m an extrovert. I THRIVE on being surrounded by friends and loved ones. I recharge best and feel energized when I’m laughing, sharing a meal or even on the phone with those who I hold close to my heart.

Over the last decade I was on a journey of personal discovery. Within the the last three years I’ve not only discovered who I am but I’m fully living as the woman I was designed to be! And It. Feels. GOOD. The kinds of relationships I’ve had and the depth of those friendships throughout the past ten years are very telling of the direction and focus of my life at that current time.

Recently I took time to write down a list. A list of my “tribe” Each of these people are valuable and have an important role in my life. And I’ve come to realize they are essential to my continued growth and journey towards all that my heart desires. I’m grateful for each and every one.

I’m thankful for my Encouragers. These are the people who give me hope. They are the best at giving high fives and hugs. They speak truth in love to me, they pick me up on days I’ve crashed and burned. They are the ones cheering me on halfway through the marathon.

I’m thankful for my Yodas. I have two people who I seek wisdom from on a regular basis. They help me navigate the path they have already walked. These “green muppets” wrote the book on hard times and failures. But they got back up, shook off the dirt and kept moving forward. They teach me and I am able to implement so much into my life from our conversations.

I’m thankful for my Back-Coverers. They fight with me in the front lines. They have my back ALL THE TIME. They stick for me and my integrity when I’m not even around.

I’m thankful for the Ass-Kickers. These amazing few bless me forward and have no problem getting in my face when needed. They are bold, don’t accept bullshit and I never doubt they have my best interest in mind. Whenever I get “off track” I know these are the people who will be calling and knocking down my door sooner rather than later.

Do you have these kinds of relationships? Are you aware of your ass kickers or encouragers? Are you a Yoda or a Back coverer to someone in your life?

I never know when I first meet someone who they will be in my life. Or what role I will play in theirs. Some of the ones mentioned above I’ve known since childhood, others have come into my life just in the last few years.

Call it a clan, call it a network. I call it my tribe. We all need at least one filled with unique and amazing souls.

This past week I jumped into a new tribe. For the next ten weeks I will be on a writing journey with 30 other women. Story101 is full of talented writers and creatives. I’m excited to see what is in store for each of us. I’m already aware that there may be lifelong friends I’ve yet to meet in this group. So cheers to a new place to create, share, laugh and cry together!

3 thoughts on “my tribe

  1. Lucy Reynolds says:

    Cheers to your new venture. I am sure you will find long term relationships with this new group of talented people. Btw, good blog. I am sure I’m in your clan ;-)

  2. Elora Nicole says:

    Thankful you joined! <3

  3. Jay says:

    I adore your perspective – that there may be lifelong friends hiding somewhere in our new tribe.

    I too, have encouragers, yodas, ass kickers and back-coverers, and love knowing that they’re there.

Leave a Reply

