30

Thirty days ago I gave myself a challenge “Become the healthiest person you can be by your 30th birthday.” And I’m happy to say that after only 30 days and on the eve of my 30th birthday I am absolutely feeling the healthiest, happiest and most carefree I have been in a loooong time!

It’s been a frustrating and long journey to better health. I realized there were many factors affecting my ability to feel better. Once I was aware of it, I was ready to start fighting through it. And I’m so glad I did!

First, I began to speak, live out and believe in the Four Agreements. I know it’s cliche to say this but…I swear this has been life changing for me!! Each day I am now striving to be more impeccable with my word, not to take anything personally, not to make assumptions and to always do my best.

Part of my “detoxing” included doing some housekeeping when it came to my relationships. I had to take myself out of a toxic situation and I have to say that I almost immediately felt better! The stress I had been feeling disappeared, I began to not be so fearful of being criticized for the woman I am and believe it was a great decision for myself.  I encourage you to check out The Single Defining Characteristic of a Manipulator , a very helpful link that a supportive friend sent me. I fully believe that a person’s emotional health affects their physical health. It’s no coincidence I started seeing improvement in my sleep and overall health after getting rid of stress.

J11093 My body definitely needed an overhaul. After the last few years of misdiagnoses, false test results and various doctors who didn’t know what they were doing! (Mostly because they never listened enough and took the time to really walk through my symptoms, etc) I have come to the conclusion that holistic medicine is the right path for me. I still believe in western medicine but I also believe that there is a HUGE place for eastern and alternative medicine in my current and future health care needs and goals. A few resources I have found helpful are:

Sunday Night Prep to Eat Clean All Week

Good Morning Yoga

Oil Pulling (my new favorite morning practice)

Healing Your Liver the Natural Way

Soul Detox (5 week reading plan)

In addition to making these changes, I’ve gone back to a few of the things I love and which bring me joy. I’m relaunching my photography business next month. My website is nearly finishing and I already have a couple exciting opportunities coming my way! I’m writing everyday and have a few magazines articles I’m submitting today. It feels good to get creative again!

On May 28th I set a goal. Thirty days to make a change. That first day I felt a bit overwhelmed. Who am I kidding? I felt really REALLY overwhelmed! But looking back, day by day I made progress. Sometimes I didn’t finish my workouts, I didn’t get my required 9 hours of sleep, I would eat processed foods or I would forget my own worth and beauty. But as I write this nearly a month later I am proud of what I have done and where I am at now. I have been nearly PAIN FREE for 29 days!! (Those who know me and my journey well can celebrate with a big WOO HOO along side me!)

It’s amazing what God can do when I allow Him to work on me and stay strong as the woman He made me to be. This feeling of wholeness and good health is the BEST birthday gift I could ask for.

“E.E Cummings wrote, “To be nobody-but-yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody but yourself – means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight- and never stop fighting.”

Here’s to 30 being the best year yet!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

