wedding day recap

Mariea Rummel Photography It’s been over a month now since Max and I stood hand in hand in front of many of our friends and family and started a whole new journey together. We’ve already had our share of ups and downs but at the end of each day we are happy and anticipate lots of blessings in the future. I get excited every time I mention “my husband” or whenever someone calls me “Mrs.”

The morning of the wedding I had to wake up waaaay too early to start getting hair and makeup done. I haven’t had coffee in years but I was starting to consider taking up the habit once again. My amazing matron of honor and I drove up to the wedding venue and I immediately smiled. This place, this day was going to be fantastic!

As family started to arrive for pictures I thought back just how easily Max fit into my family. From the very first time he met everyone in Kentucky last summer there was laughter, common ground and a friendship started between him and my father. That itself is a gift to me.

my Matron of Honor- Rachel

Mariea Rummel Photography I remember the last hour before the ceremony began. That time was and continues to be so special and meaningful to me. One by one, the closest of my friends walked into the bridal suite to pray over me, make me laugh, of course make me cry and cause me to worry about makeup reapplications! Those moments are something I’ll cherish for years to come.

And then, my father walked in. It was time to go! I recall looking at him, looking at me. There were tears in his eyes and I was reminded of the love and friendship between us. In that moment I couldn’t help but think I was there on that day, ready to marry Max- and it was all because of my father. He taught and has continually reminded me of my worth, beauty, courage and character. And I found a caring, kind, passionate, humorous, loving and hardworking man in Max because of the example my dad gave me growing up.

Mariea Rummel Photography

Moments before we walked down the aisle, the song I had chosen began to play. The words washed over me and I was overwhelmed with emotion.

Hold onto hope love. I’ve searched high and low for you.

I smiled and was ready to run and meet my groom!

Then my dad and I began to walk and…I saw Max! The grin on his face was the only thing I was focused on. I couldn’t see anyone else. Everything around me was a blur. It felt like a dream. We both were teary eyed by the time I arrived next to him.

A friend later told me our ceremony was 6 minutes, start to finish. Short and sweet!!

And then it was time to celebrate!

Mariea Rummel Photography

The best wedding party EVER!

A Texas girl always needs her boots!

A Texas girl always needs her boots!

The reception was a whirlwind! I remember getting to eat which I had heard is rare for a bride and groom. The toasts made by the best man, matron of honor and my father were special to both Max and I. Dancing and the crazy photo booth gave us an opportunity to let loose and spend time with many of our friends and family.

Mariea Rummel Photography

Our first dance is hands down my favorite moment from the reception. (My dance with my father is a very close second.) Max and I had chosen a song that has special meaning to us. Eric Church’s Like Jesus Does. If you’ve never heard it, shame on you! Go and listen now! :)

Mariea Rummel Photography

I don’t do this recap justice. So much happened in such a short amount of time- it was all a very surreal feeling but so amazing to feel so loved, not only by Max on that day, but by everyone in our lives who took time to celebrate with us. I wish I could remember it all. Part of that I blame on the whiskey, but a huge portion was just the quick nature of it all.

To all our family and friends both near and far who chose to spend their Saturday/weekend with us- thank you for loving and supporting us!

Jonathan, Dave, Rachel, Tim, Cassarah, Daphne and Declan- you guys made up the best wedding party! We had so much fun with all of you! Cheers!

Mariea @ Mariea Rummel Photography– YOU ROCK! You truly captured our love and so many incredible moments for us. We’re grateful to you and Kurt.

Carissa @ Sugar and Spice– Thank you for the yummy wedding cake! Guests and family were raving about it for days and days!

Dottie @ Camino Flower Shop– You are an artist! I’m thankful you could create beautiful arrangements for us.

Keri and Emily @ Wedgewood Sequoia– You ladies kept me sane and excited about our big day despise all the little details. Thanks for making sure our wedding went off without a hitch!

2 thoughts on “wedding day recap

  1. Alice Cross says:

    Congratulations, Kara! You were a gorgeous bride. Best wishes to you both.

  2. My pleasure! Your wedding day was beautiful! You could feel the love from your friends and family. oxo

Leave a Reply

