Lent: a new heart

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. Ezekiel 36:26

There’s something really wonderful about Ezekiel chapter 36. It is recorded for us that the Lord said, “I will” 15 times just in verses 24-38.

He has shown us over and over again that He is a God of His Word, and He is the God OF the Word. For me, it’s that simple, daily knowledge that He can be trusted (regardless of my present circumstance) In verse 26 alone He says, “I will” twice. Did you notice He did not say, “If you…I will…”?  He does not say, “If you are good…then I will give you a new heart.” He does not say, “If you give me your heart of stone, then I will give you a heart of flesh…” He does not say, “If you follow my decrees, I will put my Spirit in you.”

You see, I have found (through much trial and error) that God’s faithfulness does not change based on our softness or hardness of heart. (Thank you Jesus!) His character does not change based on our obedience or disobedience.

Our God knows our weaknesses.

He knows when we are discouraged or dismayed, but the work that He wants to do in us who love Him is amazing.  He wants to put His Spirit in us and have fellowship with us for the rest of our lives. God gave me a brand new heart last year. And I’m working on letting him use it now. I smile just thinking that when I say I am “following my heart” I know that means I am following my God!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

