something changed

Something changed inside me broke wide open all spilled out
Till I had no doubt that something changed

Never would have believed it till I felt it in my own heart
In the deepest part the healing came

And I cannot make it
And I cannot fake it
And I can’t afford it
But it’s mine

Something so amazing in a heart so dark and dim
When a wall falls down and the light comes in

And I cannot make it
And I cannot fake it
And I can’t afford it
But it’s mine

“Something changed”

This single phrase is one I’ve often heard lately. I arrived in my hometown of Houston two weeks ago and over and over people looked at me, pondered for a second and declared-

“Something changed.

You’re different.

You look healthier.

You seem happier.

You look ALIVE.”

And it’s true! My journey of healing is ongoing, but I have reached a point that I can look in the mirror and see a woman full of hope, trust and love. I am free to live as the creative, unique soul that God created. And there’s a lot of joy in that!!

With the changes in me, you may notice a shift in my blog posts in the future. I have no idea what this space will look like…but I pray it continues to be a place where I can dream, wrestle and share my voice. For now, I am continuing to rest, to move forward and dream BIG!

_

(lyrics by Sara Groves)

One thought on “something changed

  1. Love it, Kara! I love the poem, too!

Leave a Reply

