Body, Mind & Spirit: 10 months later

I’ve been working on my body, mind and spirit (BMS) plan for nearly 10 months now. I’ve enjoyed looking back and seeing some goals that I have already accomplished and how much healthier I am today for it. But….I still have a long way to go. There is still change that needs to occur, decisions to be made and more life to live!

BODY: It’s been a frustrating season trying to get my body back to good health. After changing my diet, exercise and sleeping habits I still am unable to consistently gain muscle and healthy weight. It’s crazy that I can eat 3,000 calories a day and not gain anything. (I realize I have little to no sympathy from other women for this problem, but trust me its no different from the frustration of trying to lose weight. Either way when you don’t get the results you want, its awful) End of the day, I just want to be at a healthier weight. I have some doctors appointments scheduled to find out if there’s anything more I can do. In the meantime, I’m keeping up with eating mostly organic, raw and gluten free, still practicing yoga every morning. weight lifting and challenging myself with new exercise goals (I have plans to ride 30 miles on my bike this weekend)

MIND: I’m still carving out time in my busy schedule to stop and read something new every day. My Amazon wish list continues to grow at rapid speed and I’ve enjoyed having conversations with some new people lately who have challenged my thoughts. Quiet meditation and allowing my brain to “rest” is still a priority, but I haven’t been great about doing that as of lately.

The three books I’m currently reading right now are:

SPIRIT: Boundaries. Boundaries. Boundaries. After years of not establishing healthy boundaries I seem to have gone from one extreme to another. I’m realizing that I can easily push people away and create barriers that aren’t necessary. Living in total freedom can be terrifying sometimes and I’m learning how to live this new way that works best for me and those around me. Still a process…. And because of this… my emotions were varied to say the least over the past week. I had moments that I was overwhelmed with joy and happiness, others filled with feelings of betrayal and frustration, sadness and loss. I have tried to develop a position of joy regardless of my circumstances and have seen the difference when I am faced with a challenge. My spirit is once again pursuing peace.

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Isaiah 26:3

2 thoughts on “Body, Mind & Spirit: 10 months later

  1. Kara – thanks for sharing your journey thus far. You are very much in process (aren’t we all) and your willingness to learn, yield and discover is a beautiful thing. Hope to see you again soon…

  2. I’ve got a weight issue on the other end of the spectrum, thanks to hormones being all out of whack. I need to read more, though I do have an endless supply in my closet! I’m currently reading, when I feel like it (lol) Love Has a Face by Michelle Perry. Pursuing peace is a good thing – I pray you are able to grab it and not let go!

    Janelle
    GraceTags

Leave a Reply

