adventures in dating {radio station winner}

Years ago while I was attending culinary school I dated a guy who managed a local restaurant. We’ll call him Joe. So Joe and I had been dating for a few months and things were going seemingly well. Looking back I clearly missed some major red flags. Like, we rarely ate at the restaurant he worked at. Or the fact that we spent most of our time on the opposite side of town. And it should have been a clue when he would only really make plans last minute, but at 19 years old, I didn’t really use common sense all that much…

I rarely listened to the radio which is still true today. But one morning on my way to work I tuned in to a local pop station. The DJs were giving away tickets to an upcoming concert. Here’s how it all went down:

DJ: Caller number 7, what’s your name?

Caller: Hey this is Joe.

(me in my car: OMG! This is crazy!! MY boyfriend is on the radio!)

DJ: Hey Joe! You’ve won tickets! Congrats! Who are you going to take with you?

(a big smile appears on my face. Umm…clearly he’d want to take his girlfriend right?)

silence………………………………….

more radio silence…………………

And then an unfamiliar voice responds: “He’s taking me! I’m his fiance!

Me: Wait…whaaaaat??

DJ: “Oh you’ve got your fiance on the line with you! When’s the wedding Joe?”

Joe: “uh, we’re getting married next month.”

I turn off the radio. Mother#@$%!….

Yeah. It took me a couple minutes to go from angry to pissed off to flat out disgusted. I drove to work and called the restaurant he worked at. Come to find out he and his fiance had been dating for a few years and had been living together for the past year. The wedding day was in fact in just a few short weeks.

Now most women might just call the guy, yell and end things. But my strong Polish personality (thank my mother for that) said “noooo….don’t let yourself walk away looking like the fool.”

I made a phone call to the radio station and told them the story. And then I asked to dedicate a song to Joe….from his “other” girlfriend. That day, during rush hour, when I was sure he would be at work with the radio on, the DJ announced an update about that morning’s winner. I only wish I could have seen his face when he heard it!

Hmmmm, I wonder if he ended up getting married… :-)

Leave a Reply

