the beauty of storytelling


All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of who I am
So many stories of where I’ve been
And how I got to where I am
But these stories don’t mean anything
When you’ve got no one to tell them to

I love stories. Some of my favorite memories from childhood are sitting with my mother listening to her tell stories. And taking a drive with my dad in his Ford truck, listening to music together, hearing the stories behind the lyrics. And now those memories have become stories of their own and ones that I tell often.

Every photograph I take, every recipe  I create, every song I write has a story behind it. Creating continues to be an opportunity for me to practice being vulnerable, transparent and fearless.

I continue to tell my life story because I refuse to live under judgment from others. I am now free from self judgment as well. Our stories are more important than statistics. Numbers only mean so much. I believe there is power in one voice. There is power in influence. Our words influence the world. A single photograph can cause emotion. A simple song can bring awareness and healing. Stories change lives. They can change opinions, perspectives, realities. And they can change our hearts.

But storytelling can also be messy. The closer I get to the Cross, the more I find how messy it is. Redemption can be a beautiful thing but it starts with something dying so something else can thrive and grow. Still, it’s no reason for me to shy away from it all. My story is being written daily. I continue to write because I feel its necessary to speak out truth- the beauty and messiness of it all.

I have this quote written in the front of my journal: “Before I can tell my life what I want to do with it, I must listen to my life telling me who I am.” –Parker Palmer

This past year has been all about self discovery for me. I’ve learned to first listen to who I am and now I’m starting to rewrite my story not only aware of myself but confidently living out of my true identity.

You and I have all the makings of a life of epic proportions! A story for the ages. Because they all are. Every life is. To strive. To seek. To find. And not to yield to an average existence. To LIVE. This is what it’s all about right?

Tell your story. I’ll keep telling mine…

Leave a Reply

