Body, Mind & Spirit: week 32

While writing in my journal last night I noticed that it is week 32 of my body, mind and spirit plan! To see previous weekly updates go HERE.

BODY:

I have finally found a good eating and exercise plan that works for me and is helping me reach specific goals. I still eat gluten free about 50-75% of the time and am very conscious of the foods I cook and eat. Good nutrition has become a focus in my daily life and I know its working because I feel healthier, crave veggies instead of sugar and have a lot more energy. I continue to practice yoga every morning and have added in 3 days of cardio and 2 days of weights. On my “off” days I usually go for a short hike or ride my bike.

Resources:

Nutrition and a gluten free diet

Yoga Anatomy

trail maps

MIND:

“Whatever you believe, with feeling, becomes your reality. You are the sum total result of all your belief systems to this moment. Your beliefs form a screen of logic or a screen of prejudices through which you see the entire world. You never allow in any information that is inconsistent with your beliefs, even if you have beliefs that are totally inconsistent with reality. To the degree to which you believe these things to be true, they become true for you.” – Michael Wickett, It’s All Within Your Reach

The above quote has been very revealing to me lately. I have been reading Feelings Buried Alive Never Die again and finding the emotions behind some of the physical ailments and pain I’ve had for the last few months. What I’ve come to understand is that our feelings are either coming from a place of love or fear. All negative feelings are rooted in fear and positive feelings are rooted in love. When I take a look at my emotions and feelings each day I’m staying aware of where its coming from. More times than not in the past I have been living in fear. Now I see that the majority of my feelings are coming from a place of love. And it’s an incredibly freeing! The book says that the mind and the body are like parallel universes. Anything that happens in the mental universe must leave tracks in the physical one. In the past year I have dealt with skin cancer, digestive issues, insomnia, blurred vision, lower back pain and bruise easily despite taking iron supplements.  The feelings behind these include unworthiness, obsessed with order, fear of losing security, unresolved feelings, concerned about money and being in unhealthy relationships. When I read each of these feelings I could see how obvious they all have been in my life. I’ve taken steps to eliminating stress and working through these feelings and I’m noticing that my body is thanking me for it. I continue to spend half an hour in silent meditation each morning which helps me focus well before my day even begins.

SPIRIT: I’ve been tapping into my creativity in new ways.With the exception of a few events I haven’t been photographing much over the last month or so. I have been writing poetry, songwriting, painting and taking a dance class. I have also continued to see my heart heal and to live fearless and without worry. My spirit feels “lighter” and I’m finding peace like never before!

Circle me, Lord.
Keep protection near
And danger afar.
Circle me, Lord
Keep hope within.
Keep doubt without.
Circle me, Lord.
Keep light near
And darkness afar.
Circle me, Lord.
Keep peace within.
Keep evil out.

Leave a Reply

