Do Not Read This

I am stubborn. Actually, it goes beyond just plain stubborn. I think I’m all out hard-headed and ornery. But the good thing is I just don’t care. :-)  I received an email recently from a reader of this blog. They asked that I refrain from ever discussing the following list of “controversial” topics: sex, lust, politics, war, abortion, abuse and drug use.

Well, I replied respectfully encouraging the reader to stop reading my blog if they were offended because they happened to list out all of the things I plan to write more about. I don’t shy away from uncomfortable, even difficult conversations. It feels like the more we try to hide and cover up certain issues the more taboo they become and the more we destroy opportunities to speak freely about them. Well I’m not going to add to the shame, the judgement and the lies that sometimes go along with such topics. So next week I will be starting a series of posts of “taboo” topics. I warn you now, myself and the guest writers I have asked to join the discussion will not hold back. I intend to speak truth no matter how difficult it may be, for myself or for others. In the meantime I will ask you the same question I am asking myself: Why have each of these things become so taboo to speak about?

Let thy light shine, then, in dark places. Edgar Cayce

2 thoughts on “Do Not Read This

  1. Jeromy says:

    Love it!! I can’t wait to read every single taboo post. Who knows, I just might follow suite, then they can’t run!

  2. leann payne says:

    that’s nuts how can someone ask you to only write about certain things!! why not just take it upon themselves to stop reading??

Leave a Reply

