I am worth more than the sparrows

Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?” Luke 12.22-26

Yesterday afternoon Jesus and I were talking. I told him I was feeling disrespected and hurt. Once again the conversation turned to the topic of my dignity.

I gained a new freedom recently in choosing to let go of old lies. I now believe I am worth fighting for, that I am deeply loved by God and ready to move forward in a more healthy way. Since making this declaration, I’ve got to do something with it. Words alone are never enough. I have to act on it.

So while Jesus and I talked, I made a list of everyone I am in relationship with.; family and friends. I quickly was able to see the people who I interact well with, and those who I don’t. I have the right to choose what I want. I get to walk away when I need to and stop communication with those who aren’t holding my dignity. I am in control of myself and how I participate in relationships. And change is a ‘comin. There are people I need to have difficult conversations with, stop communication with or create space between us. It won’t be easy and I don’t know what the final outcome might be but I know that it’s necessary.

I am worth more than a quick phone call every other month. I am worth more than a half honest conversation. I am worth more than drunken affection. I am worth more than constant criticism. My dignity, my value, is priceless. And today I am beginning to live out these truths. I am worth everything Jesus has promised.

“And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” Matthew 10.28-31

I am worth more.

2 thoughts on “I am worth more than the sparrows

  1. Jake says:

    Really like this blog, Kara. Sounds like God is doing some amazing things in your life. Peace & blessings to you, my friend!

  2. leann payne says:

    I have had to end communication with lots of friends and family that wasn’t healthy for me. it’s hard at first but so freeing in the long run!!

Leave a Reply

