Lent: draw me nearer

Nine days into the season of Lent and I have found myself countless times stopping to pray and meditate like never before.

My prayers have become more honest, more raw, REAL and I don’t hold anything back. I’ve yelled at God, cried out, rejoiced and rested in His presence. As I fast from music I find myself not so much longing to turn on the stereo, but the songs of my heart begin to burst forth onto the pages of my journal and I long to write more. It’s endless. I am writing like never before! And the words of songs that resonate with my own heart and what I believe God is trying to teach me in this season continue to haunt me (in the best sort of way). I have been speaking these words (lyrics by Meredith Andrews) out loud all day. Draw me nearer Lord. Never let me go. These words are my prayers. The longing of my heart. I pray that I continue to desire more with my Savior.

For your nearness Lord I hunger
For your nearness Lord I wait
Hold me ever closer Father
Such a love I can’t escape

For your nearness I am hoping
For your nearness Lord I long
Have no need of any other
I have found where I belong
Yes, I have found where I belong

So draw me nearer Lord
Never let me go
Closer to your heart
Draw me nearer Lord

In your nearness there is healing
What was broken now made whole
Restoration in it’s fullness
Lasting hope for all who come

In your nearness I take shelter
Where you are is where I’m home
I have need of only one thing
To be here before your throne

So draw me nearer Lord
Never let me go
Closer to your heart
Draw me nearer Lord

And keep me here, keep me here
There’s nowhere else I rather be

One thought on “Lent: draw me nearer

  1. Kristin says:

    Beautiful Kara!!!

Leave a Reply

