grieving with hope

I’ve unfortunately become used to experiencing great loss. I have experienced the pain of people dying too suddenly, too early in their life, for as long as I can remember.

Late last night I received news that a dear friend, someone who has been a spiritual mentor to me for the past few years had died. I was stunned. I was angry. I had a hard time controlling my grief as I dropped the phone and fell to the floor. I wept for a long time.

I sat in silence this morning and tried to think through all of the recent conversations we had. I have received countless valuable words of guidance, affirmation, criticism and encouragement from him. I can’t imagine not having him in my future. I value good counsel and support like what I received from this man.

Today I grieve, deeply, but with hope. I know we will see each other again and I hold onto every word, every conversation, every embrace and meal we shared.

Thank you Jesus for Shaman. May he be welcomed into Heaven’s gates with a loud celebration!

One thought on “grieving with hope

  1. Lucy Reynolds says:

    Another angel watching over you!

Leave a Reply

