Vulnerability

“I do not believe that sheer suffering teaches. If suffering alone taught, all the world would be wise, since everyone suffers. To suffering must be added mourning, understanding, patience, love, openness and the willingness to remain vulnerable.” -Joseph Addison

Vulnerability. What a tough concept sometimes. I remind myself often of the benefits of living my life as transparent and authentic as I do. There is no hidden agenda, no veil, no mask, no second guessing. Those around me know that I say what I mean and do what I say. But at times it can be difficult to remain vulnerable; to allow others to see me, all of me, for who I really am.

This week has been filled with several opportunities for me to hide and not be honest. But each time I chose to remain vulnerable and risk without knowing the end result. I had to push send on a difficult email I wrote, picked up the phone to have a long overdue honest conversation and opened the door when someone I invited over for a tough discussion showed up. Three very different situations but they all began with the same question-

Am I willing to step out, in faith and speak truth? Even when it hurts? Especially when it’s painful??

I can’t say I like the space I’m in right now or that I even feel good what what’s happened over the last few days. But I’m confident this is the only way for me to live- with an open heart and mind. I’m willing to take the risk and be vulnerable and seek truth. Speaking from my heart gives me freedom instead of feelings of self isolation when I hold back.

Below is a video I’ve watched many times over the past few months. I love her words and her heart for challenging us to live lives of vulnerability.

One thought on “Vulnerability

  1. raquela1 says:

    Again, I’m inspired. I can’t go to bed because since I said my last prayer, my fingertips are falling onto web pages of responses from God to me, some through your writings. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

