open skies

We all know the phrase, “When it rains it pours.” How many times have we each experienced this in life?  
This week I believe I had countless opportunities to give into this mentality that life sucks; shit happens and allow myself to be overwhelmed when each “hit” comes my way. But I can’t get overwhelmed. This for me is the difference between joy and happiness. Between perspective and happenings. My circumstances didn’t affect the joy that I have been given. I wasn’t able to control 90% of my experiences this week but I was already aware of that. I quickly reminded myself that I’m not the Holy Spirit. I don’t get to take His job. So any worry about direction or control is easier to let go of because I know who I have given my life over to. I may not be able to see where He’s leading me or the obstacles in the road ahead of me, but as I was recently reminded by a dear friend, “many things about tomorrow I don’t seem to understand. But I know who holds tomorrow and I know who holds my hand.”

When the skies open up, instead of ducking and running for cover I can stand still, breathe and say,

Jesus bring the rain.

When the storm ends and we open our eyes to witness the anticipated destruction, if we look close enough we see a simple yet powerful reminder of the One who holds our hand and goes before us.

Jesus bring the rain. Thank you for the vibrant beauty you bring out of broken skies.

 

Flickr photo
Leave a Reply

