Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 8

BODY:

Here are a few more raw food recipes:

Avocado Salad:

Hass avocados, organic, mashed
Add to avo:

  • 1 small red onion, minced
  • 1 small red bell pepper, minced
  • 1/4 lime: the juice
  • 1/2 tsp. cilantro, dried
  • 3/4 tsp. kelp (sea seasoning)
  • sprigs of oregano
  • cayenne to taste

Mix all ingredients together.

Kreme of Asparagus Soup:

This could be called the king of soups. The fiber in the asparagus creates a delightful texture, and the tahini gives it a smooth quality. Do not use the woody ends of the asparagus. Chop only the most tender part, about 1 1/2″-2″ from the end.

  • 1 Cup cut up asparagus
  • 1 Cup wild rice, soaked 3 days (change water daily)
  • 1 cup carrot juice
  • 2 Tablespoons tahini
  • 1 teaspoon cut up onion, or more to taste
  • Bragg’s
  • dulse flakes

Blend until a smooth consistency. Yields approximately 1 1/2 cups.

MIND:

This week feels like a quiet before a storm. You know when a tornado is approaching and you can see it and everything goes dead quiet? I had a hard time focusing on work and tasks that I needed to finish this week. I found myself needing to pratice “mind relaxation” Here’s how I typically practice quieting my mind:  Close your eyes. Breathe normally through your nose. As you exhale, silently say to yourself the word “one,” or any other short word such as “peaceful,” or a phrase such as “I feel quiet” or “I’m safe.” Continue for 10 minutes. If your mind wanders, gently remind yourself to think about your breathing and your chosen word or phrase. Let your breathing become slow and steady.

I took some time this week to update my wish list on Amazon. I am currently reading about 20 books and have pages of more that I want to buy. Here’s my current LIST

SPIRIT:

There are some exciting things that I have planned for 2011. I desire to be more creative, more generous with both my time and finances and I look forward to updating soon on all that I’ll be doing!

Leave a Reply

