Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 6

BODY:

Over the last six weeks I have used three basic rules to stay conscious of my health and what I eat:

  • Eat only foods that will eventually rot. The more processed a food is, the longer the shelf life, and the less nutritious it typically is.
  • Avoid food products containing ingredients that a third grader cannot pronounce. (I actually asked a 4th grader what high fructose corn syrup was and he said “you mean what you put on pancakes?”
  • Eat your colors. The colors of many vegetables reflect the different antioxidant phytochemicals they contain. Many of these chemicals help protect against chronic diseases.

This was the first week that I woke up and actually FELT physically healthy. I have more energy throughout the day, I crave vegetables instead of chocolate (most of the time!) I also feel different since I’ve stopped drinking alcohol. It’s been a few weeks now and I know my liver is thanking me! Overall, I have the viewpoint of “quality of quantity” for everything I eat or drink.

Back in July I had surgery to remove cancerous cells in my body. A scar was left from that surgery and I was told that it would take a long time to heal and it might not ever heal completely (I’d have a light scar permanently). I have been praying over that and on Tuesday I woke up and took a shower. I stepped out and looked and the scar was gone. Completely. I couldn’t even see where I’d had the incision. For me, it was a sign of God’s healing, both physically as well as the emotions that came with the cancer diagnosis this past summer.

MIND:

This week I spent time reading two important articles that I’d like to share with you.

SPIRIT:

My continuous prayer from this week:

God, Thank you that you have me in the place that you want me just now…no matter how I go here. You knew my mistakes and sins before I ever existed, and you worked them into your plan to draw me to yourself, to mold me, to bless me, and to bless others through me. You are able to work things out for us, to turn evil into good. I stand amazed at the complexity and mystery of your wisdom. How safe it is for me to trust your reasons for acting (or not acting) and your methods of working! Thank you that I can safely commit my location and situation to you. So I rest in the fact that you have me in this place for this day, and I praise you that you will faithfully guide me throughout life just where you want me to be, as I seek to do your will.

This week’s Scripture verse is Romans 11:33 “Oh the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! How unsearchable are His judgments and unfathomable His ways!”

Leave a Reply

