Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 5

I was excited to start the fifth week of my body, mind and spirit plan for overall wholeness and better health. Before I share my thoughts on each for the week I want to share a quick update on some of the original goals that I set:

  • I continue to practice yoga twice a day, 7 days a week. I have also started weight exercises 3 times a week.
  • I have one day a week that I deem my Sabbath Day. It’s a time for me to intentionally focus on God, my health and allow all distractions to fade away- for just 24 hours. I find that this is becoming more and more easy to do each week.
  • The practice of receiving has generally been difficult for me. Over the last month though I have asked for specific ways friends and family can help and I’ve found just how much I need others to provide support, love and encouragement to me on a regular basis.
  • I still need to work on setting specific starting and ending hours when it comes to work related tasks. Most of the time I find I can shut down the computer and turn off my phone by 7pm.
  • Something that was not in my original plan but was nicely pointed out to me by a friend is my need for more sleep. Until a few weeks ago I would sleep between 5-7 hours a night, most of the time I was lucky if it was seven hours. I am now consistently sleeping 8-9 hours a night. I can’t believe how different I feel already. It’s amazing how much energy I have throughout the day and I’m happy to have added this to my plan.
  • 

BODY: Vitamins and Herbs

I take a variety of vitamins and herbal supplements every day. I want to quickly share about 3 that I recommend to people frequently.

  • Vitamin D is a nutrient that helps almost every part of the body. Like calcium, it builds bones and teeth and keeps them strong. I take a 600 IU capsule every morning. Only a few foods naturally have vitamin D. The best source is fatty fish like salmon, tuna, and mackerel. Beef liver, cheese, egg yolks, and mushrooms provide smaller amounts. I started taking Vitamin D after finding out from my chiropractor that I have osteoporosis in my neck. After doing some research I learned in adults, vitamin D deficiency causes bone pain and muscle weakness. Adults who don’t get enough vitamin D and calcium can develop weak and brittle bones (osteoporosis). More information can be found here.
  • Alpha Lipoic Acid is a fatty acid found naturally inside every cell in the body. It’s needed by the body to produce the energy for our body’s normal functions. Alpha lipoic acid converts glucose (blood sugar) into energy. Alpha lipoic acid is also an antioxidant, a substance that neutralizes potentially harmful chemicals called free radicals. It can be found in foods like meats and veggies (spinach, carrots). I have been taking a 50mg daily capsule for the past 6 months as a way to treat and detoxify my liver.
  • Flaxseed contain high levels of dietary fiber including lignans, an abundance of micronutrients and omega-3 fatty acids. It seems to help in lowering cholesterol levels, protecting against heart disease and reduces the risk of cancer.  I buy whole flax seeds and ground them up, a cup at a time in a coffee grinder. I take a ziploc bag with me wherever I go! Mostly I sprinkle some in yogurt, on top of cooked veggies, in salads, etc.

I buy all of my vitamins and supplements from Vitacost. The website has a great selection of brands, wholesale prices and flat rate shipping. I can usually make an order and have it delivered in less than 3 days which is helpful for someone like me that doesn’t always pay attention when I’m running low on something.

MIND: Where’s the OFF button?

This week I had problem shutting my brain “off”. My mind is constantly filled with information and to sit down and just clear my mind can be a challenge. I took some extra time in meditation and journaled a little more this week. Overall I need to stay aware of what is concerning me, where my focus is at and what I can do to stay mentally healthy (just saying that sounds like there’s a problem!)

SPIRIT: Instinctive knowledge

I have a sixth sense. No, not like that creepy kid in the movie. My intuition serves as good as any of my other five senses. My “gut” signals me like a fire alarm when something isn’t right. And I’m never wrong. Ever. I don’t say that to be prideful, but it doesn’t happen all the time and when it does, and I listen to that feeling of alarm, I’m always able to clearly see what is happening. I know this is part of what keeps me calm in the midst of chaos, but other times that sense can overwhelm me. This week I woke up two days in a row with a feeling that a “storm was coming”. Something is happening that I am being made aware of in advance. I allowed it to take over my thoughts and feelings and had trouble sleeping and eating for a few days. Last night I talked to God about it. I asked Him to remind me that this is a strength and to give me extra courage and wisdom in using it to help myself and others. Today I am having to take the first step in confronting something that my intuition has been screaming at me to face for weeks now. I pray that God goes before me and helps guide me in conversation and protects and calms my heart and spirit.

This week’s Scripture is Proverbs 15:32-33  “Those who disregard discipline despise themselves, but the one who heeds correction gains understanding. Wisdom’s instruction is to fear the LORD, and humility comes before honor.”

Leave a Reply

