Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 3

This week I experienced a lot of peace. I have been continually surprised to find that pursuing a life of peace and wholeness takes a lot of work. There is too much drama that swirls around me. Walking away from it isn’t always easy but I love the feeling of being at peace and not having to worry.

BODY: FOCUS

This week I didn’t stick to my low-sugar, raw foods diet as much as I would have liked. I find it’s easier to control what I eat when I’m at home. I traveled most of this week and then got back home just in time for Thanksgiving. I seemed to struggle with focusing on my health when my schedule was busy with meeting people, driving long hours on the road, etc. Looking forward to eating well again starting this weekend.

I spent time researching yoga poses that would specifically target relief from back pain. I have suffered from back and neck pain since having whiplash in a car wreck over 10 years ago. Here is a sequence of poses I have been using for the past few days: Therapeutic Focused Yoga

MIND: REST

Over the past month I have been reading at least a half-dozen books- all for education or work-related purposes. I went to the bookstore last weekend and picked up a couple of “nonsense” books as my mother would call them. My favorite so far: Are You There Vodka, It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler. Favorite quote: “My feeling is, if a dog is that hard up to break free, let it go. It’s like a boyfriend who wants to break up. We all know the old adage “If you set someone free, and he never comes back, then he was never yours.” I understand the main fear with setting dogs loose is they could get hit by a car, but so could an ex boyfriend. That’s just a chance you have to take.”

I need to spend more time reading BS books just for fun. Too much focusing on the topics of personal growth, spirituality and health can get exhausting too!

SPIRIT: PEACE

This week I began my focused prayer and meditation time (right after my morning yoga session) with this prayer by Saint Francis of Assisi:

Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;
Where there is hatred, let me sow charity;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is error, the truth;
Where there is doubt, the faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light; and
Where there is sadness, joy.
O, Divine Master,
Grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
To be understood as to understand;
To be loved as to love;
For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
And it is in dying to ourselves that we are born to eternal life. Amen.

This week’s verse is Colossians 1:16 “For in him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through him and for him.”

One thought on “Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 3

  1. Rene says:

    love love love that prayer! Praying it this morning! Aaaand I love you!

Leave a Reply

