Top 10: Movies

Someone recently asked me for my “top 10” (movies, bands, songs, places to visit, foods, etc). So I’ll start off this series with my Top 10 favorite movies.

Being a former film student I can say that I have watched A LOT of movies. Hundreds, maybe even thousands by now. I find myself able to connect with characters, music, places/cultures and such. Movies impact me almost as much as music does. This list was not difficult to come up with. These ten movies are ones I go back to time and time again. If you haven’t seen any of these- you MUST!

#10 500 Days of Summer


trailer

Favorite quotes: “Darling. I don’t know how to tell you this, but there’s a Chinese family in our bathroom.” ; This is not a love story. This is a story about love.

There is something about this movie that I love- the ending. It’s not the typical Hollywood “happy ending” and I love that! It’s just life. The soundtrack is also amazing!

#9 In Her Shoes


trailer

Favorite quotes: “Shoes like these should not be locked in a closet! They should be living a life of scandal, and passion…” ; It is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart. I carry your heart. I carry it in my heart.

I remember first watching this movie and expecting to hate it because I’m not at all a fan of Cameron Diaz. But I was wrong. This movie is great. Definitely a chick flick but the relationships between the 3 women and the picture of what family is like for them was surprisingly entertaining. I will go ahead and admit that I cried during the scene where Maggie reads the poem to Rose at her wedding. Such beautiful words.

#8 Elf


trailer

Favorite quotes: “And after that: I walked through the Lincoln Tunnel.” ; “Sounds like somebody needs to sing a Christmas Carol.”

How could you NOT like this movie? I love Christmas/Holiday movies and this one is definitely one of my favorites. The scene where Buddy jumps on the tree is my favorite scene of the entire movie. I still laugh like crazy every time I see it! I also love the story of someone longing to find family, their “place” in the world so to speak but not willing to let go of who they are in order to find it.

#7 The Blues Brothers (1980)


trailer

Favorite quotes: “Our Lady of Blessed Acceleration, don’t fail me now.” ; “We’re on a mission from God.”

Ah, this movie brings back many memories. I remember the first time watching it with my dad. I thought he was as cool as Jake and Elwood- but doesn’t every daughter think her father is awesome? And the two themes of the movie- redemption and blues music. What more could you ask for??

#6 The Breakfast Club


trailer

Favorite quotes: “I’m doing society a favor.” ; “No I don’t wear tights, I wear the required uniform.”

I sat in detention in 7th grade and daydreamed about The Breakfast Club. My detention time was nothing like the movie but I was fascinated by the bonds that formed over such a short amount of time. I hate labels and stereotypes and I guess that’s why this movie has always resonated with me. If you just take the time to get to know someone at a deeper level than just first impressions you find yourself surprised by what you find more often than not.

#5 A Christmas Story


trailer

Favorite quotes: “I can’t put my arms down!” ; “Fraa – geel- eee! Huh! Must be Italian!”

Oh Ralphie! This movie was one my family watched over and over and over…. My mother loved this movie. It became tradition growing up to watch the movie marathon on TV on Christmas Day (right after the Macy’s parade ended.) I also thought it would be cool if my dad came home one day with a leg lamp although my mother would have hated it! I still try and watch this movie at least once during the Christmas holidays.

#4 Se7en


trailer

Favorite quotes: Ernest Hemingway once wrote, “The world is a fine place and worth fighting for.” I agree with the second part.  ; Long is the way, and hard, that out of hell leads up to light.

Se7en is just one of those movies that burrows deep under your skin and festers. It’s a bit anti-climatic at times and I’m not a fan of Brad Pitt but the storyline kept me interested. The characters are believable, a solid story direction and great photography. I can’t help but critique this movie every time I watch it- it’s the former film student in me! Definitely a movie you need to see- but I warn you it’s not for everyone- plenty of people I know haven’t been able to stomach it.

#3 Moulin Rouge


trailer

Favorite quotes: “Suddenly an unconscious Argentinean fell through my roof. He was quickly joined by a dwarf dressed as a nun.” ;  The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.

This movie is awesome. I could say much more about it- but if you’ve never seen it- watch it and tell me you don’t agree!

#2 Chocolat


trailer

Favorite quotes: Serge: We are still married, in the eyes of God.  Josephine: Then He must be blind.

This story is very spiritual to me. The scene where the woman tastes the chocolate but has some left on her hand and says “the fragrance left by the chocolate”. I love that! There is a lasting impression people can make on each other. Vianne’s chocolate shop is much more than about selling sweets, it’s a center for healing. She provides encouragement and inspiration to others. The story of one person making a difference and bringing “life” back into a community- I love that!!

#1 Fight Club


trailer

Favorite quotes: It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything.; “Maybe self-improvement isn’t the answer…. Maybe self-destruction is the answer.” ; “Only after disaster can we be resurrected.”

Hands down this is my favorite movie!! I could go on and on about the character relationships, the themes of destruction, awareness, temptation and resurrection, etc, etc. I watched this movie for the first time at a time in my own life when I was struggling with who I was. I can relate to Tyler’s fears and idiosyncrasies. We live in a fast-paced, material focused, fight for equality and at the same time individualism world.  I can’t tell you how many people I have bought this movie for. It’s one I believe everyone needs in their movie collection. And I warn you now- if you ever have the opportunity to watch this movie with me- be prepared for a long commentary and critique. :)

2 thoughts on “Top 10: Movies

  1. Carrie says:

    Oh yea “Breakfast Club”, “A Christmas Story” & “Fight Club”…awesome movies!

  2. raquela1 says:

    I want to watch Fight Club with you! Love your list. Fight Club is my #1 movie and for the very reasons you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

