Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 2

Week two of my body, mind and spirit plan was amazing!! I am really starting to feel the positive effects of my raw food meals and low sugar diet. I’ve now gained 10.5 lbs and continue to enjoy the daily practice of yoga. This week I attended a hot yoga class. Wow! So great! Challenging and it left me energizes for the rest of the day. Last weekend I had a chance to provide counsel to a few people who are walking through suffering right now. I’ll share more in another post about my desire to use my gifts of empathy and hospitality more in the future.

BODY: Benefits of Yoga/ Raw Food Recipe

Yoga has been practiced for more than 5,000 years, and currently, close to 11 million Americans are enjoying its health benefits. Most Westernized yoga classes focus on learning physical poses, which are called asanas. They also usually include some form of breathing technique and possibly a meditation technique as well. Some yoga classes are designed purely for relaxation. But there are styles of yoga that teach you how to move your body in new ways. Choosing one of these styles offers the greatest health benefits by enabling you to develop your flexibility, strength, and balance. Yoga is considered a mind-body type of complementary and alternative medicine practice. Yoga brings together physical and mental disciplines to achieve peacefulness of body and mind, helping you relax and manage stress and anxiety. I have already started feeling the benefits of daily yoga practices. Every morning I wake up and immediately roll out my yoga mat. I drink a little water and turn on a playlist of music that I created for a 30 minute session. In the mornings I try to do mostly stretching poses with a few that are challenging and strengthen my core muscles. In the evenings before bed I typically do another 30-45 minute session this time focusing on the mind-body connection and calming my entire being from the day. I  have felt more at peace and have seen anxiety fade away during this time.  Whether you are new to the practices of yoga or are looking for new resources, check out YOGA JOURNAL. This website offers free poses, daily tips, online classes and videos and so much more. I visit the website almost daily now.

I am still eating about 30% raw foods in my daily diet and would like to work myself up to 50% soon. Here is one of my favorite recipes for lunch. So good! And you can experiment and try new veggies with it.

Raw Food Recipe: Lettuce Wraps (makes about 6 wraps)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 very ripe avocados
  • 3 tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, diced
  • 2 tbsp yellow onion, diced
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • kernels from one ear raw organic corn
  • 2 tsp fresh lime juice
  • 6-8 large romaine lettuce leaves

PREPARATION:

  • In a medium sized bowl, mash the avocado.
  • Add remaining ingredients and stir until well mixed.
  • Spread 2-3 tablespoons of this mixture onto lettuce leaves and wrap. Enjoy!

MIND: The Blues

“Simply put, music can heal people.” -Harry Reid  For those of you that have never met me, or don’t read this blog often, I LOVE music. I literally have music playing all day long. In my car, at my desk, my iPods (I have 3 that I’ve filled with great music) go everywhere I go. I have over 19,000 songs on my iTunes. Music feeds my soul like nothing else does or can. So this week I spent time listening to a bunch of music and creating playlists that put me in a peaceful, restful state. One of my favorite new playlists is full of the Blues:

  1. “How Blue Can You Get”, BB King
  2. “Boogie Chillin,” John Lee Hooker
  3. “Where You Been,” T Model Ford
  4. “I feel Like Going Home,” Muddy Waters
  5. “Smokestack Lightning,” Howlin’ Wolf
  6. “Down the Dirt Road Blues,” Charley Patton
  7. “Grinnin in Your Face,” Son House
  8. “Cross Road Blues.” Robert Johnson
  9. “I Hate to See the Sun Go Down,” Memphis Minnie
  10. “Going Down the River,” Mississippi Fred McDowell
  11. “Judge Boushay Blues,” Furry Lewis
  12. “Police Dog Blues,” Blind Blake
  13. “Done Got Old,” Junior Kimbrough
  14. “Mojo Hand,” Lightnin Hopkins

*all of these songs are available on iTunes.

SPIRIT: Receiving

This week I discovered that I have isolated myself in many ways. I won’t go into all the details but I can say I am now aware of some things I need to change and I’m actively pursuing receiving love and hospitality from others like never before. I spent two amazing days with some dear friends earlier this week. Conversation with this couple is always life-giving to me. They encourage and bring joy to my life without even realizing it most of the time. I’m also taking a trip to Dallas this weekend to spend even more time resting in great company and receiving love and truth from others.

My Scripture verse for this week is: Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

2 thoughts on “Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 2

  1. Becky says:

    I too have started my own little journey of body, mind and spirit, thanks to a great book titled, “Comfort Healing and Joy: Secrets to living a magnificent life” by David Fox, M.D. With its concrete guide to cultivating happiness… how could I not try to make the change. It is so nice to run across posts such as yours, to keep me going. Great ideas, and can’t wait to try the recipe!

Leave a Reply

