Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 1

Each Friday I’ll be posting my thoughts from my body, mind and spirit plan. This was the first week that I really put it all to practice. I didn’t stick to it as much as I would have liked but I know it’s a process. Anytime you make major changes to a person’s lifestyle, eating and sleeping habits, etc it takes time to work on. I ate 5-6 small meals a day and hit my daily 3,000 calorie count all but one day. I slept for at least 7 hours every night and have been practicing yoga twice a day. I caught a small cold on Tuesday night but I have been taking extra Vitamin C & E and Elderberry along with lots of water and tea and I seem to be feeling much better already.

Body: Why go RAW?

The Raw Food Diet is a diet based on unprocessed and uncooked plant foods, such as fresh fruit and vegetables, sprouts, seeds, nuts, grains, beans, nuts, dried fruit, and seaweed. Heating food above 116 degrees F is believed to destroy enzymes in food that can assist in the digestion and absorption of food. Cooking is also thought to diminish the nutritional value and “life force” of food. Typically, at least 75% of the diet must be living or raw but because I am also trying to add calories to my diet I am only doing about 30-50% raw food meals. The benefits of a raw food diet include increased energy, improved skin appearance, better digestion, weight loss and reduced risk of heart disease.

A very short list of raw foods is:

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Beans
  • Grains
  • Legumes
  • Dried fruit
  • Seaweed
  • Unprocessed organic or natural foods
  • Freshly juiced fruit and vegetables
  • Purified water
  • Young coconut milk

I will continue to share my experiences with this including resources and recipes.

Mind: Books & Podcasts

This week I focused on two books I’m currently reading. One is Surprised by Hope by N.T. Wright. When I was given this book a friend told me it was “a Biblical view of the bodily resurrection.” I so agree. The Christian doctrine that Wright presents is very much in line with what I believe. There are a few things that I haven’t quite agreed with yet but I’ve continued on enjoying the majority of the writing. Here’s a quote:

“…left to ourselves we lapse into a kind of collusion with entropy, acquiescing in the general belief that things may be getting worse but that there’s nothing much we can do about them. And we are wrong. Our task in the present…is to live as resurrection people in between Easter and the final day, with our Christian life, corporate and individual, in both worship and mission, as a sign of the first and a foretaste of the second.”

This week I also started listening to two new podcasts: Phil Shepherd (aka the Whiskey Preacher) and Christ and Pop Culture (Where The Christian Faith Meets Zach Galifianakis)

I find that I become easily bored when listening to like-minded people too much so I’ve devoted more and more of my time to trying to understand others’ perspectives and hear new thoughts and ideas. I look forward to learning more and more through others’ stories.

Spirit: Painting & Poetry

Most people think of Sunday as the Sabbath but for me I seem to define it a little differently. I chose to spend one day a week (the day will vary from week to week) just resting. But rest does not equal sitting on the couch doing nothing. For me its all about focusing on what’s important, spending a significant time in the presence of God and so I fill my day with things that are relaxing and that feed my soul.  This week my Sabbath day was Thursday.  I slept it, did an hour of yoga and prayer meditation and then went for a 3 mile run. There is something about being out running in the city that I love. I think I learned this while living in Prague. The sounds of life in the city start to sound like a dance, a melody if you listen close enough. It was good for me to be out and explore my neighborhood in Houston a bit more. I returned home, ate a raw food lunch and then spent some time painting. I have had a box of blank canvas sitting on my desk for the past 2 months and I just haven’t felt like picking up a paintbrush. Until yesterday. I also signed myself up for a 3 week painting class starting next week to improve my skills. Last night I spent about an hour writing poetry. I’ve always been very critical of myself when it comes to writing poetry but last night I just wrote- no editing, no marking anything out. It was amazing to see what came out on paper. Lots of emotions and current happenings in my life all spilling onto the pages of my journal.

I have also started memorizing Scripture each week. This week’s was Isaiah 26:3 “You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you!”

One thought on “Body, Mind & Spirit: Week 1

  1. Carrie says:

    Wow, I’m so impressed! And I love your idea of the Sabbath, I definitely need to be spending more quiet time with God than I currently am. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

