love made visible

Beloved, let us love one another; for love is of God, and he who loves is born of God and knows God. He who does not love does not know God; for God is love. 1 John 4:7-8

I have been incredibly blessed to be a part of Lakehills Covenant Church for the past year. The relationships and deep community that I have gained from this church are invaluable to me. It’s crazy to think that I only met these people a year ago.  I pray they will continue to be in my life for years to come.

One of the reasons that I first started going to Lakehills was based on what they had written on their website. “We are a group of imperfect people who are seeking to live and love like Jesus. We strive to be an authentic, loving place that truly worships God and learns to take the Gospel seriously.”

Their mission is to “make God’s love visible.” I love this! Once I read that and quickly started meeting a few families that lived this mission out, I was hooked.

This idea of making love visible is quite possibly the best way to explain this summer for me. If you have been reading this blog at all over the past 3 months you have been witness to the drastic changes that God has made in my life. I am in awe looking back. 90 days ago, I was a completely different person; someone who was broken and slowly walking down a road filled with fear, loneliness and afraid to turn around.

I finally realized that I have to fully receive and claim the love of God before I can give it to others. My recent post about fear of the familiar was really about my acceptance of love in my life. Choosing to be loved and love others can be a risk. But it’s a risk I’m so glad that I’ve taken.

This morning was my last Sunday at Lakehills Church. I am truly going to miss this community. As I stood on stage and shared about what God is doing in Prague and my dreams to see His Kingdom expand in the Czech Republic, I found myself overwhelmed with gratitude and joy. I am leaving here with a new-found freedom and I have so many people to thank for journeying beside me over the past year. So, to my dear friends:

May the blessings of love be upon you

May its peace abide with you

May its essence illuminate your heart

Now and forever more….



One thought on “love made visible

  1. Jordan Clark says:

    Great post. I love the question, “Are you making God’s love visible in your life?” That sounds like the ultimate question for us Christ-Followers.

    It’s so good to hear that God is working in your life. It makes me smile to know that you have found a great church as well. Blessings to you!

    Jordan

Leave a Reply

