small victories

Here’s what I know to be true:
The times that I am following closely to Christ are the times that the enemy messes with me the most.

The past three months have been absolutely incredible. Full of joyful times of celebration and freedom. I don’t think I have ever been so willing to run towards God like I do now. I have learned more about His goodness, grace and His love for his children. I am more comfortable being myself because I finally have accepted who I truly am: a loved child of God, and nothing less.

This summer has also been full of tough times. Satan sees my desire to be in relationship with Christ and has taken EVERY opportunity to steal my joy and whisper lies. He has used disease, miscommunication with family, tragedies in friend’s lives and so on.

There have been days that I have not wanted to fight. Yesterday was one of those days. I was overwhelmed with the presence of evil in the world around me. It seemed easier to just give up, give in. Fighting a battle when you feel alone and weaponless is hard. I struggled this morning to remember God’s truth. I prayed, read through Scripture and listened to music.

“You make all things work together for my good.” I do believe that. The fight is difficult but worth it when you reach victory. Even the small daily victories. Today I can celebrate the small things. One of my students is asking questions about God for the first time in nearly 3 years. Another is “thinking” about leaving an abusive relationship. A friend is making a major career change with no fear. I am sitting in Prague and feeling confident that this beautiful city is seeing redemption and restoration like never before. I see God moving in the Czech culture. A tiny flicker or light in the darkness. Thank you Jesus.

“How much can you know about yourself if you’ve never been in a fight?” -Fight Club

John Lennon Memorial Wall, Prague

Leave a Reply

