today, I am fearless.

Three and a half years ago I was diagnosed with malignant melanoma (i.e skin cancer). I can remember at the time sitting in the doctor’s office, stunned and speechless. My close friend and her mom had just gone through chemotherapy and radiation for aggressive breast cancer. Thankfully, they are both now in remission. Six months after my diagnosis and procedure, another close friend died just 9 weeks after being told she had stomach cancer. There’s still a strange feeling that comes over a person when the Dr mentions the word cancer no matter what you have experienced in the past.

This morning I went to the doctor and had another biopsy. I had every reason to be afraid. This time though, I found that I had NO anxiety or fear?!? I sat in the chair, took a deep breath and said “Okay, whatever the results, we are all aware of the options and we’ll do what we need to.” My doctor sat there and smiled. “That’s suppose to be my line”, she said.

It’s cool to witness God working in someone else’s life, but I love being able to stop and see how He’s changing me as well. God and I have been through a lot over the years and we’re not even close to being finished.

Fear and worry are gone today and have been replaced by courage and confidence. Thank you Jesus.

Will keep you updated once I get the test results in the next day or two.

3 thoughts on “today, I am fearless.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kara Helena, Kara Helena. Kara Helena said: new blog post: today, I am fearless http://tiny.cc/wewau […]

  2. Kristin Smith says:

    That was a wonderful post Kara. It is wonderful to see what God is doing and has done in your life. We are all “witnesses” to what God has done in our lives. Thank you for sharing what you see happening in your life.
    Love you,
    Kristin

  3. Jenelle says:

    Wow, Kara, I had no idea. I’ll be praying. Bless you with more and more peace.

Leave a Reply

