Confessions 1

“confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed” (James 5:16).

Confession seems to be a lost tradition in our church culture. Actually, I could say that about society in general.  Sure it’s acknowledged but I rarely see it being practiced. What does it look like for us to truly hold each other accountable?

I remember when I first started going to church after becoming a Christian. It seemed to be a regular practice. I would share the struggles in my life and people from the church would pray over me and discuss (oh so NOT helpful) ways for me to change my thinking or habits. Within just a few short months it became clear that those of us new to faith were expected to participate in this, however those that had been around for a while could simply ignore their issues. No problems, no confessions. This never seemed quite right to me and now being in church leadership I find myself wrestling with this question.

What does it look like for a community to confess to each other?

Repentance is a good thing.

One thought on “Confessions 1

  1. […] is part of a series. To read from the beginning click  here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Susan Boyle and OctomomHow do you know when […]

Leave a Reply

