Music Monday

I have a lot of memories of  music from my childhood. My mom (and dad) love music (of all kinds) and I’m so grateful to have grown up with parents that made sure I heard everything from Simon and Garfunkel to Black Sabbath.

My mom in particular had a love for Billy Joel.  A few years ago,  my dad told me a story of seeing him in concert with my mother. The show was in a high school gym in Kentucky (amazing!) and my mom being from Brooklyn could not wait to hear her favorite song. Near the end of the show, Billy starts playing New York State of Mind on the piano and my mother makes her way to the edge of the stage,  screaming and singing along. I think the Southern crowd had no idea how to handle this New York gal! So in honor of Susan Maddox and the many fond memories that she gave me:

Favorite Lyrics: “It was so easy living day by day, Out of touch with the rhythm and blues.”

Leave a Reply

