God initiates

I have been very quiet over the last 2 months. I haven’t been online much, and I think it has been a good time to rest, reflect and find out just where I am in my journey with God and what it looks like moving forward. I think I really need to have more of those times in my life where I slow down and take some time to get a good look at where I’m headed.

Last month I went on a women’s retreat with a local church. Arriving in Tahoe at the retreat center, I realized I knew no one, had never even been to this particular church and did not know what the weekend would entail. I think there was a moment of panic followed by God saying, “I know, I’m here and I’ve got you.” Yes…that’s just what I needed at that moment. The whole weekend was a time to just stop and listen to others, listen to their stories, and let the Holy Spirit lead (instead of what we usually do, especially as women, and give unneeded advice or counsel). It was such an encouraging time and I found myself feeling more connected to the Holy Spirit than I have been in a long time.

I made a commitment a few days after the retreat to memorize 2 Corinthians 5:11-21. It’s all about the ministry of reconciliation, God’s redeeming love. A subject that I have wrestled with understanding more since becoming a Christian. Then today in a bible study class, we discussed the parable of the prodigal son. Actually we are reading the book Prodigal God by Tim Keller, which I highly recommend. We read over and over in both the book and in Scripture (specifically Romans 5 this morning) that God initiates (giving us the gift of justification and grace). I find it inspiring and yet challenging as I think about that- God initiates- He pursues. Then our choice-our responsibility is to act on that. We have to decide whether or not to accept that gift and live a life that reflects that. I have to choose to wake up every morning and live a life that points back to God, that glorifies Him in everything I do. That’s hard to do. I’m still learning what that looks like in my life. I desire to do better each day. I want to be in the ministry of reconciliation as Christ has called me to be. This will be a continued theme in my life I believe.

Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

