CONNECT day 5: Hospitality

Last night Linus shared with us the five spiritual practices that Christian Associates staff should practice in their communities.

  • Hospitality
  • Gospel planting
  • Passionate Devotion to Christ
  • Disciple making
  • Risky community, mission and service.

This morning Laina Graf shared her thoughts on one of those spiritual practices- hospitality. Everyone that has ever mentioned Laina to me always shares how hospitable she is and how much she values the people in her life. I truly enjoyed my time getting to know her this past week and was encouraged by what she shared today. If you have time, watch the first 6 minutes of the video posted below. It’s from the movie Chocolat, which if you haven’t seen, you need to! This is a fantastic image of what hospitality and a generous heart looks like.

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me. “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’¬† Matthew 25:35-40

I have been SO blessed by my time in Portugal this week. It was a refreshing and restful time. A time of feeling renewed mentally, physically and spiritually. I believe I have a clearer picture of what future ministry looks like for me and I am thankful for all of the encouragement and wisdom I have received this week. It’s been so exciting to have Kara Swindler here from Prague as well as our Czech friend and fellow English teacher, Zuska. I will be flying to Prague tonight and look forward to sharing about my time there soon!

Portugal

missing Portugal already...

Tagged

3 thoughts on “CONNECT day 5: Hospitality

  1. Carrie says:

    Kara, thanks so much for writing about each day. I really enjoyed hearing what stood out to you. It must have been hard to write concisely about each day. I know I wouldn’t have done it. But you helped all of us feel like we were there just a little bit. Dekuji!

  2. Kelli Garner says:

    I enjoy this site, it is worth me coming back

  3. RobD says:

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post! :)

Leave a Reply

