Happy Birthday Mom

Today is my mom’s birthday. She would have been 50 years old.

My mother, Susan Jane Oszustowicz Maddox was Polish, born in Brooklyn, New York. She married my father after their chance encounter at a beach in Virginia. I hold on to so many memories of her and I’m sure the rest of my family does as well. She was a devoted wife, mother, sister, friend, artist, teacher and follower. She followed Christ and served Him in everything she said or did. She brought truth, comfort and grace to everyone she met. When she befriended someone they knew that she would forever be there. My mother never promised anything she couldn’t do. She left nothing undone before she died.

I’ve yet to meet anyone else quite like her. Her sacrificial, servants heart still amazes me and I hope to become more and more like her.

I count myself incredibly blessed that Susan was and always will be my mother, and that she was with me for sixteen years of my life. I believe our sorrow shows how much we have been blessed, and how much we have to be thankful for. I am blessed.

“When you are sorrowful, look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”

Leave a Reply

