quarterlife

Today I turned 25. I’ve been in a reflective mood lately and after a conversation with a good friend tonight I realize that most people that are in their mid twenties or turning thirty focus too much on what they haven’t accomplished. I think it’s important for us to remember the things we have accomplished. It’s so easy for us (for me) to get caught up in the expectations I have for myself. I’m sure that there are things I haven’t done that I would have liked to by now. So in the spirit of celebration and rejoicing in where God is leading me, I thought I would share some highlights/accomplishments of the last 25 years:

danced from age 3 for eleven years in various forms

culinary school

moved to California (alone) at age 18

accepted to Brooks Institute (top photography school in United States)

traveled to Greece, Russia, Ireland, Czech Republic, Austria, Spain, Germany…

became a freelance photographer at age 20

sold first photograph at 21

published first photography book at age 22

ran a marathon

surrendered to Christ

learned to surf

almost got a tattoo (still working on that)

fell in love

bungee jumping (twice)

conquered feelings of guilt and grief

missions work

fell out of love

raising kids

31 weddings

countless “drives” along the California coast

moving to Prague

Dearest friends-Thanks for encouraging and supporting me, giving me guidance and criticism when needed and helping me along this journey. I look forward with joy and renewed hope for the coming year.

-Helena

One thought on “quarterlife

  1. terry says:

    Hmmm, I was having those thoughts when I turned 50. I think you have a few more years to accomplish the unaccomplished. I love your list of “have dones”. That is a wonderful positive way to celebrate 25!
    Have a wonderful today.
    Love, T

Leave a Reply

