Easter gathering

p1000597aa.jpg

Last night over twenty people here in Prague gathered in the Springers apartment. It was a time of communion, community, and remembering Christ’s sacrifice for us. I am so thankful for everyone that was a part of the dinner. I had the chance to meet some new people, and reconnect with others.

Here’s some thoughts  and highlights on the night: A few of us arrived at the Springers early to set up for the evening. During a time of prayer before guests arrived, Craig prayed about how thankful he was to even have the opportunity to pray in his apartment. How twenty years ago, under Communism, we would not feel safe gathering to celebrate the death and resurrection of our Lord. Hours later, the doorbell rings.  A man, his daughter and granddaughter come in. He tells Craig that he was the previous tenant of the apartment- twenty years ago!! Of all the great conversations and people that God connected last night I have to say that I was stunned by this one!

Craig and Sasa spent some time explaining the resurrection of Christ. We also spent time in personal prayer and reflection of what His sacrifice means to us. Here’s what came out of that time of meditation for me:  Christians are exhorted in Scripture to live by the power of Jesus’ resurrection, or newness of life by the Spirit of Jesus (Holy Spirit) living in and through them, every day, not just during Lent.  If Jesus didn’t rise from the dead, then the faith of Christians is “useless” and “pitiful,” wrote the Apostle Paul. Jesus is alive and indwelling his people right now. I pray that throughout the coming year, I will look at Christ’s death and resurrection in a new way. I pray that the Sprit of the living God would be seen in everything I do and say. That my ministry here in Prague would give glory to God and his name would be lifted up!

“I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me” (Galatians 2:20a).

Leave a Reply

